## I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2006 (SECOND) Regular Session

**Executive Committee Resolution No. 166** 

Introduced by:

R. J. Respicio
B. J.F. Cruz
J. A. Lujan
F. B. Aguon, Jr.
J. M.S. Brown
Edward J.B. Calvo
Mike Cruz
Mark Forbes
L. F. Kasperbauer
R. Klitzkie
A. B. Palacios, Sr.
Ray Tenorio
A. R. Unpingco
J. T. Won Pat

Relative to congratulating Rai Jose Barcinas and La Raina Teresita Gumataotao on their selection and coronation at the Twenty-Fifth (25th) Anniversary of the Government of Guam Association for Retired Persons (GGARP)-Servicio Para I Manamko (SPIMA) Senior Citizens Month activities, and to commend all of the contestants and organizations who took part in and made possible this worthy fundraising activity.

- 1 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I
- 2 MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:
- 3 WHEREAS, the Government of Guam Association for Retired Persons
- 4 (GGARP) and Servicio Para I Manamko (SPIMA) provide a number of
- 5 worthwhile and needed services to our island's manamko; and

WHEREAS, one of the most widely anticipated events on Guam is 1 2 Senior Citizens Month; and 3 WHEREAS, an essential part of the month's events is the selection of the Rai and La Raina, with a number of contestants vying for the titles, this year 4 being no exception as thirteen (13) candidates sought the two (2) titles; and 5 WHEREAS, for 2006, Tun Jose Barcinas of Merizo was crowned Rai and 6 Tan Teresita Gumataotao of Inarajan was crowned La Raina; and 7 8 WHEREAS, the proceeds of the event assist seniors by funding the expenses related to the annual celebration, providing TVs, computers and 9 other equipment for various senior centers, and providing prizes to the top 10 finishers; and 11 12 WHEREAS, our manamko deserve the utmost respect and admiration for 13 their wisdom and their many years of service to their families and their island; 14 and WHEREAS, the other candidates for the GGARP-SPIMA 2006 Rai yan La 15 Raina also deserve acknowledgement and recognition; they are Tan Rosa 16 Candoleta of Santa Rita, Tan Maria Visperas of Yigo, Tan Brigida Mojica of Agat, 17 18 Tan Leticia Aninzo of Astumbo, Tan Carolina Eclarino of Agana Heights, Tan Rita Cruz of Yona/Talofofo, Tan Juliet Miranda of Dededo, Tan Juanita Blas of Mangilao, 19 20 Tan Felicita Farmer of Tamuning, and Tan Angeles Limsom of Sinajana; and the other Rai candidate is Tun Leonardo (Abay) Aballe of Sinajana; now, therefore, be 21 22 it 23 **RESOLVED**, that the Executive Committee of I Mina'Bente Ocho Na 24 Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby, on behalf of I Liheslaturan Guåhan and the 25 people of Guam, congratulate the Rai and La Raina of the GGARP-SPIMA 2006

1 Senior Citizens Month activities, Rai Jose Barcinas and La Raina Teresita

2 Gumataotao; and be it further

10

3 **RESOLVED**, that the Executive Committee of I Mina'Bente Ocho Na

4 Liheslaturan Guåhan, does hereby, on behalf of I Liheslaturan Guåhan and the

5 people of Guam, commend the Government of Guam Association for Retired

6 Persons (GGARP) and Servicio Para I Manamko (SPIMA) for ensuring the

7 success of this year's Senior Citizens activities; and be it further

8 **RESOLVED**, that the Executive Committee of I Mina'Bente Ocho Na I

9 Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby, on behalf of I Liheslaturan Guåhan and the

people of Guam, commend all of the candidates who participated in this

11 year's Senior Citizens activities; and be it further

12 **RESOLVED**, that the Speaker and the Chairman of the Executive

13 Committee certify, and the Secretary of the Legislature attest to, the adoption

14 hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to Rai Jose

15 Barcinas; to La Raina Teresita Gumataotao; to the Government of Guam

16 Association for Retired Persons (GGARP) and Servicio Para I Manamko

17 (SPIMA); and to the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, I Maga'lahen Guåhan.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF *I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN* ON THE 4TH<sup>h</sup> DAY OF MAY 2006.

ARK FORBES
Speaker and

Chairman, Executive Committee

EDWARD J.B. CALVO
Senator and

**Secretary of the Legislature**